Home » Uncategorized » THE MISSING FURNITURE MAKERS

THE MISSING FURNITURE MAKERS

165

Dear Hank:

Thank you for sending that cap by special over-the-sea delivery. You would not believe how well it fits me! Unfortunately, I do not have a photograph of my batting stance and we do not have a camera or know of someone here with one, so you will have to use my descriptive words to help me. All I can say is that I have a problem getting my eyes to see the bat the second that it hits the ball. Maybe you have a remedy for that you can tell me.

The bigger problem in my life is what just happened to two of Father’s friends. Max and David were hard-working furniture makers in the village, and the other night they were taken out of their houses in the middle of night by officials. Their families were told they were being questioned about some “activities” but nobody has seen them since and the police and German soldiers won’t even hear the families’ questions about them. Everyone is suddenly more scared and nervous. Lilah wants to sleep in the same bed with me every night, and she is the one who is older! We did tell Mother and Father we wanted to move away, but Father is being stubborn about this. Maybe if someone else he knows is “questioned” he will finally change his mind.

I saw that you went zero-for-seven in that great 15-inning battle you had with the Browns, but the Tigers did have a good week and you lead everyone with 12 home runs now. The boxed scores you send keep my heart glowing.

Your friend,
Markie

May 14, 1938

 

Dear Markie,

Relax your hands a bit, keep both of your hands steady and see through the ball.

And PLEASE move away from that village if you can!

Best,
Hank
5.15.38

2 thoughts on “THE MISSING FURNITURE MAKERS

Leave a Reply

