Home » Uncategorized » SPRUNG FROM THE COOP

SPRUNG FROM THE COOP

Opening Day 38_0SEPT. 19, 1938
TO: H. GREENBERG, ℅ DETROIT TIGERS
FROM: S. GLASSMAN, ATTORNEY AT LAW, ATLANTA, GA

VISITED JAIL IN MARIETTA. “MARKIE” EDELSTEIN GONE. HAD ALREADY BEEN LET OUT IN CUSTODY OF A MR. STEIN. PUBLIC DISTURBANCE FINE PAID FOR IN FULL. RUMOR THEY WERE HEADED TO TRAIN STATION BUT CAN NOT CONFIRM. GLAD TO BE OF ASSISTANCE. GIVE REGARDS TO RABBI FRANK.

Dear Marjorie,

I’m guessing you are back at Wayne State by now. If so, I have a small favor I could use your help with if you have the time.

Maybe you’ve heard about the ten-year-old boy from Austria who I’ve been writing letters with. Anyway, he has finally made it to the States and I think he’s traveling up this way by train but until I hear from him it’s hard to know exactly where he’s going. If there’s any way you can meet him when he gets here and “take him under your wing” for a short time, that would be great. We’re still deep in this very long home stand all week against the Athletics and Indians, and as I’m sure you’re aware I’m going after the Babe’s homer record and I have reporters all over me every day.

Hope you’re doing well. I haven’t received any “home run cartoons” from you in a while. Remember that a fine dinner out is coming your way if you can help me. Or even if you can’t.

Best,
Hank
9.20.38

Leave a Reply

